Text of Additional 5×5 play

EPILOGUE to THE ARGUMENT
By Hope Villanueva

SETTING: Phillip and Sophie’s apartment in New York City
TIME: The early evening, three days after the end of “The Argument”

(SOHPIE is curled up in bed eating ice cream, much as she was in the earlier scene. PHILLIP comes home from work with take out pasta in round plastic and foil tins.)

PHILLIP
I got it. (Pause) I made them let me check a noodle for tenderness before I paid.

(He looks to her for a response. She just looks defeated. He takes of his coat and begins to set the table.)

It’s plain marinara. We have that fancy olive oil from my sister and a nice block of parm in the grater.

SOPHIE
Okay.

PHILLIP
Want me to grab your robe?

(She shakes her head.)

PHILLIP
It’s chilly in here.

SOPHIE
I’m fine.

PHILLIP
I’m going to grab it.

(PHILLIP ducks into the closet. SOPHIE starts to cry silently and smothers it.
She stands – It’s some effort to get to her feet. Phillip re-enters with her robe.)

You don’t need to be up.

SOPHIE
You got dinner.

(She walks past him toward the kitchen.)

PHILLIP
I wish you’d look at me. Sophie? At least put on the robe.

(She doesn’t look at him, but stops where she is. She allows him to put the robe around her shoulders.)

Soph?

(She continues into the kitchen. She grabs a glass and opens a bottle of red.)

Is that a good idea?

SOPHIE
Want white?

PHILLIP
Sophie!

SOPHIE
It doesn’t matter now.

(SOPHIE gets a second glass and holds it up.)

PHILLIP
Yes, please.

(PHILLIP begins setting the dinners up on plates.)

SOPHIE
Did you want a boy or a girl?

PHILLIP
It doesn’t matter.

SOPHIE
But what did you want?

(She hands him a glass of wine.)

PHILLIP
I was so – I just wanted to have it. Whatever it was. A girl. A girl that looked like you.

(They make it to the table and attempt to eat.)

SOPHIE
A girl that looked like you would be strange.

PHILLIP
Yeah.

SOPHIE
A boy that looked like you would be okay. Maybe he would have been smart like you, too.

PHILLIP
Or a painter like you.

SOPHIE
I’m sorry.

(Her heart is in her throat.)

PHILLIP
Sohpie –

SOPHIE
I’m sorry, I’m so so sorry, Phillip. I know I was – I was still going –

PHILLIP
It’s not your –

SOPHIE
I called them back and I –

PHILLIP
I know –

SOPHIE
– rescheduled the appointment. I was going to do it. I was.

PHILLIP
Yeah. You didn’t.

SOPHIE
I thought it was a stomach ache. I went to that chocolate bar with Lisa. Chocolate seemed like an excellent idea. They have fondue. It’s really rich and I just thought, “Oh I totally overdid it”.

PHILLIP
You know –

SOPHIE
When I got to the restroom and sat down, I just – I couldn’t get up. And the cramps kept coming and coming. I thought I was going to die. And I felt it come out. By the time I didn’t hurt anymore, I was too terrified to stand up. Lisa came in the bathroom looking for me. I blew her off and told her I was fine. I don’t know if it was a boy or a girl. I couldn’t – It wasn’t human. I was looking at – something. It wasn’t… And I flushed the toilet.

(PHILLIP by now has come to her side of the table and knelt at her feet.)

PHILLIP
I’m sorry.

SOPHIE
It wasn’t you.

PHILLIP
I shouldn’t have… I should have stopped you.

SOPHIE
You couldn’t have stopped it.

PHILLIP
The refrigerator.

SOPHIE
What?

PHILLIP
I didn’t stop you.

SOPHIE
Phillip –

PHILLIP
You were pregnant. And you were pushing that fridge with all your might and straining –

SOPHIE
That wasn’t –

PHILLIP
Then I made you help me move it clear of the door.

SOPHIE
I’m in my 40s. I probably would have miscarried anyway.

PHILLIP
Maybe not.

SOPHIE
And I was going to get rid of it.

PHILLIP
But you didn’t. Not on purpose.

SOPHIE
Why are you letting me stay? After…

PHILLIP
I, uh…

(He gets up and finds the card she had written him. He takes it to her and she reads it to herself. When she finishes, she looks to him.)

You wrote that for me. Was it true?

SOPHIE
Yes.

PHILLIP
Is it still true?

(SOPHIE nods.)

I want that. I’ve always wanted that.

SOPHIE
But what about –

PHILLIP
Sophie. Here’s where we are. The rest…

SOPHIE
When we get to it?

PHILLIP
Yeah. (Long pause) Want cheese?

(SOPHIE measures him a long time.)

SOPHIE
Yes.

(PHILLIP begins grating cheese onto her pasta.)

(Blackout.)