In Appreciation of our Valiant Audience – Love, Mom

Upon reading of all the hearty souls who braved the snow last night–both in our audience, and in the family–my mother wrote, as only my mother can:

Oh My goodness!!!! How absolutely awful for Katie and Sophie to be outside during this weather. I had NO IDEA THAT THIS WAS GOING ON!! And how amazingly incredible that Theater J’s audience and supporters are as loyal and loving as they are!!! Truly wonderful; every theater in the world should have such intelligent, thoughtful, caring and loyal supporters and dedicated human beings!!!!

Looking forward to seeing you on Saturday!!!

Chaya and Wally

One thought on “In Appreciation of our Valiant Audience – Love, Mom

  1. Response to “I’m speaking to you Chinese”

    While watching the reading of “I’m Speaking to you Chinese” my first thought was that it must be difficult for an actor to feel as if they have captured a character to the fullest extent without being able to move around in a space. I thought that I would feel frustrated performing a reading in front of an audience without being able to use motion, and interact physically with the other characters. However, after the first few minutes of the play I was able to get past my personal frustration that it wasn’t an actual production and appreciate the verbal interaction of the characters and their commitment to conveying the complicated feelings and emotions of this narrative. I must admit I did not fully understand the fact that Mireleh as an older adult could communicate with her younger self. I would have preferred if the older Mireleh could only see and observe her younger self as a memory without being able to talk to her. I just could not get past my disbelief that the older version of the same character could actually communicate and influence her younger self. However, it was interesting that Miri continuously tried to warn her younger self and prevent her from having painful and emotional experiences. I recognize that a suspension of disbelief is necessary to digest this complicated narrative. Also the actress that played Martha, the mother to Mireleh, gave a thoroughly convincing performance as a miserable cantankerous mother who has never resolved her painful past experiences from WWII and the Auschwitz.

Comments are closed.