Saying Goodbye to Theater J

Today is my last day at Theater J and this is my last blog entry, for the moment at least, who knows what the future holds in store. I thought I would just re-post for you the letter that I sent to my colleagues and the artists I have worked with.  The same sentiments in the letter holds true for the Theater J audience. I have loved working at Theater J and will hold all of my memories dear.

Dear All:

 

Tomorrow is my last day at Theater J.  Over the past five years I’ve been lucky to work with wonderful people, I mean all of you.  Theater J has become a second family to me and it’s hard to believe that in a couple of days I won’t be here anymore. It has been an extremely moving experience to pack up my desk, take postcards and mementos off my wall and start saying my goodbyes.  I’m excited for the future as I move up to New York to pursue a MFA in Dramaturgy from Columbia University, but it’s still hard to say goodbye.

 

I first came to Theater J the Spring of my senior year of college. I took a week off of school to come down to DC and volunteer at the International Jewish Theater Conference. I was at the time focusing on theater and Jewish history at Sarah Lawrence and was interested in finding a way to combine my interests.  Theater J was the perfect fit. I enjoyed the conference, the theater and the people that I met.  The week after graduating, I returned to Theater J and found a home and family as excited as I was about producing new, thought provoking works that touched on our experiences as American Jews.  I have loved interacting with the audience that came to our theater and made many wonderful friends within the DC theater community.  I am also constantly impressed and stimulated by the work being done in the center. This building, of which the theater is just a fraction, provides so much to the community and is really in my mind the pinnacle of what a Jewish organization should be: open, interested, creative, provoking and providing for all who pass through the doors. Aside from saying goodbye to the people I know that it’s going to be a  difficult transition to be no longer working in a Jewish environment.

  
I wish you all the very best and thank you for helping to make my time at Theater J so wonderful.

Hannah Hessel