Do You Not Just Love That Picture?

I do. Love it. Three of my favorite actors from 3 very different parts of a life. (I’m talking about the one posted yesterday.)

Danton Stone was a twenty year member of the wonderful Circle Repertory Company ensemble. The first play I saw there when I came in 1981 just before officially moving to NYC in ’82 as a literary intern was Danny in the role of Wes Hurley in Lanford Wilson’s Fifth Of July and, shortly thereafter, Danny was creating the role of Don Tabaha in Wilson’s Angel’s Fall (both of which wound up on Broadway). Two years later, he was Joe in the Steppenwolf Theatre/Circle Rep collaboration of Lanford’s Balm In Gilead directed to within an inch of its life by John Malkovich where Danny played opposite Laurie Metcalf.

Peter Birkenhead walked into an audition room in 1989 to read for director Joe Mantello and me in advance of our summer 1990 world premiere production of Oh, The Innocents. “Great shirt,” I think was the first thing I said when Peter walked in. “I’ve always wanted a black shirt like that,” was the phrase Peter remembers. I never did get a shirt that looked half as cool as what Peter wore, but I did get him to act in 5 or 6 of my plays. And got a friend for life. Watching him work on the national tour of Angels in America (he was an even better “Lou the Jew” than Joe Mantello, who did it on Broadway) following up on his Broadway runs for the Neil Simon Brighton Beach Trilogy, was a joy for me to behold — an unsung superstar scoring a homerun every night. And he never got famous. Only better and better.

And Meghan Grady. The loveliest young actress to come through DC in all my tenure here. A star in the making. Always honest. Always strong. And gorgeous. Smitten? Who me?

They’re a joy to have around. Designer run at 12 today. We’ll see what we got on stage!